Touch Football News & Updates


Lismore open and under 15 girls and boys teams travelled to Tomaree Sports Complex at Nelson Bay Newcastle to compete at the CCC Touch Football Championships and selection trials. All Lismore teams played well throughout the day with Ethan Tombs (under 15’s) selected in the CCC teams.


Lismore Diocesan Individual touch football selection trials in under 15’s and opens were held at Coffs Harbour on Tuesday 3rd March. Thank you to convener Carla Taggart who convened a very well run trial. Thank you to selectors, team managers, coaches, referees and St John Ambulance who attended this event. Congratulations to all students whose skill levels were very high this year and made the selection process very difficult.  Students selected will attend the CCC touch football championships at Nelson Bay, Newcastle on Wednesday 8th April. 

Congratulations and all the best to the  following students were selected from Diocesan trials at Coffs Harbour to attend CCC.


Shontali Williams ( St John’s College, Woodlawn), Madeline Alexander (Xavier College, Ballina), Ruby Flanders ( St John Paul College, Coffs Harbour), Rosana Smith, Charlee Bailey, Evie Wignall, Fleur Sherlock (MacKillop College, Port Macquarie) & Sienna Gill, Tenay Boney, Rhiannon Slater, Ava Glassie, Milla Seale (St Joseph’s Regional, Port Macquarie). 
SHADOWS – Yasmin Huxley (Mackillop College, Port Macquarie), Mia McKeon (St John Paul College, Coffs Harbour), Hollie Matthews (Trinity College, Lismore), Hayley Marshall (Trinity College, Lismore). 


Claire McLaughlin, Allie Wood, Emily Wright (NewmanTech College, Port Macquarie), Mia Marino, Brooke Meyers, Isabella Ryan, Petrea Spencer (MacKillop College, Port Macquarie) Tahlia Hopkins, Chloe Eichmann, Sarah Stewart, Bianca Green, Hannah Freeman. 
SHADOWS – Bailee Whitehouse (St Joseph’s, Banora Point), Ruby Parker (Trinity College, Lismore), Shenae Northey (Mackillop College, Port Macquarie), India Flanders (St John Paul College, Coffs Harbour).


Cooper Patterson (St Paul’s, Kempsey), Austin Harley (Xavier College, Ballina), Jack Alchin, Sam Watts, Jye Wilcox, Blake Steep (St Joseph’s Regional, Port Macquarie), Ethan Tombs, Ned Goodwin, Lennox Jenson, Ben Geary, Joe Carrick, Tana Marino (MacKillop College, Port Macquarie). 
SHADOWS -Bo Paisley (St Joseph’s, Regional, Port Macquarie), Hamish Speed (McAuley College, Grafton), Logan Kennedy ( Xavier College, Ballina), Cooper Lorger (MacKillop College, Port Macquarie).  


Lennox Rowe (St John’s College, Woodlawn), Lachlan Anderson (Xavier College, Ballina), Billy Sprague (St Joseph’s Regional, Port Macquarie), Ike Harris, Jayden Wilson (St Joseph’s College, Banora Point), Kye Gill, Joshua Goldburg, Corey Lewis, Taj O’Brien, Jacob Prince, Theo Garland, Joe  Black ( Newman Senior Tech College, Port Macquarie). 
SHADOWS – Elliott Speed ( McAuley College, Grafton), Daniel Cheeseman ( Newman Senior Tech College, Port Macquarie), Tyrone Flannigan (St Joseph’s Regional, Port Macquarie), Blake Marrison ( St Joseph’s College, Banora Point), Jack Field (St Joseph’s College, Banora Point).


The Lismore Diocesan secondary touch football championships were held in Ballina on Wednesday 31st July. Persistent showers of rain started at the commencement of the first game once the whistle sounded however, the students enjoyed the competition of the day. Thank you to convener Mike Ryan who did a great job organising the day and making adjustments to the draw to ensure that there was a final. Thank you to college team coaches and managers, Ballina touch football association referees, St john Ambulance officers and Ballina touch football for providing a canteen.

Congratulations to all participating students in both under 15 and open teams who participated on the day. Despite the wet conditions, there were some great games and outstanding skills from the students.


Under 15 girls final: Mackillop College, Port Macquarie 1 defeated Xavier Catholic College, Ballina 0.
Under 15 boys final: MacKillop College, Port Macquarie 2 defeated St Joseph’s Regional College, Port Macquarie 1.
Open girls final: St Joseph’s Regional College, Port Macquarie 3 defeated Newman Senior Tech College, Port Macquarie 1.
Open boys final: Xavier College, Ballina 5 defeated Mt St Patrick College, Murwillumbah 2.

CCC Touch Football Championships – 10 April 2019 Nelson Bay Newcastle

Lismore open and under 15 girls and boys teams travelled to Tomaree Sports Complex at Nelson Bay Newcastle to compete at the CCC Touch Football Championships and selection trials. All Lismore teams played well throughout the day with a number selected in the CCC teams.

Secondary Touch Football – 26 February 2019 Coffs Harbour

Lismore Diocesan U15 and Open Boys & Girls teams selected for CCC Championships on 10 April 2019 at Newcastle. View the results (PDF).

CCC Selection Trials & Diocesan Championships 2017 – Dubbo (24th May)

Held at Dubbo on Wednesday 24th May. Lismore Diocese had 4 teams (opens, under 15’s boys/girls) attend these championships and CCC selection trials . Well done to all Lismore students who attended these trials ( players and referees) and to the Lismore Managers who looked after the students.

Congratulations to 3 Lismore students who were selected in CCC teams. They were Tommy Brennan – open boys (MacKillop College, Port Macquarie), Petrea Spencer girls 15’s ( MacKillop College, Port Macquarie) and Allie Wood – girls 15’s ( St Joseph’s Regional College, Port Macquarie).

For full results and selections visit the NSWCCC website. (under Touch)

NSWCCC Touch Football Lismore Open Boys

Diocesan Touch Report and Results 2017

View the report, results & photos (PDF)